Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Steve Russell

Representing the 5th District of Oklahoma


Steve Russell Nominates Fifth District Students to U.S. Service Academies

December 21, 2015
Press Release

Del City, O.K. - Each year, members of Congress are given the opportunity to nominate a certain number of students from their district to the Military Academy at West Point, U.S. Air Force, Merchant Marine, and Naval Academies. The students nominated become eligible for an appointment, and if selected will begin classes next fall.

Congressman Steve Russell (OK-05) spoke about the 2015 nominations from Oklahoma’s Fifth District to one or more of the United States Service Academies saying, “I could not be more pleased with the candidates. The review board did a magnificent job assisting me with who should be nominated for our military academies. The board took their job seriously, and the result is a great class of nominees. Those of whom made it through the process reflect the best of Oklahoma and I am sure they will make their families, friends, communities and district as a whole proud with the successes they have in store for them.”

The process for receiving a nomination is highly competitive. Nominations are made based on a composite of academic factors including class rank and SAT/ACT scores. They are also evaluated based on leadership potential as well as athletic and other extracurricular activities.

Each applicant underwent a personal interview with Congressman Russell’s review board comprised of retired service members and Academy graduates.  Russell’s board included the former commander of the Air Force Sustainment Center at Tinker, Lt. Gen. Bruce Litchfield (Ret.); 1980 Naval Academy graduate and Oklahoma City realtor Nels Petersen;  Captain Solange Eddy, a 2010 Air Force Academy graduate stationed at Tinker;  Retired Army Staff Sergeant Rusty Dunagan; and 2005 Military Academy graduate and Oklahoma City banker, Edward “Ted” Perry.

The list below includes the names, hometowns, and high schools for each nominee as well as the academy to which they are nominated.  Nominations will now be considered by the academies’ selection committees for potential acceptance for admission.  Many of these students received nominations to multiple academies.

Ms. Paige Miles: Oklahoma City, Heritage Hall – Naval Academy

Mr.  Shaun Johnson: Oklahoma City, Harding Charter Preparatory Academy – Naval, Military, Air Force

Mr. Hunter Hill: Edmond, Bishop McGuinness – Military, Naval Academy

Mr. Jose Maria G. Borrego Acosta III: Heritage Hall – Military, Air Force

Ms. Anne Ryan: Edmond, Edmond North – Military, Air Force, Naval

Ms. Masen Nichols: Edmond, Deer Creek High School – Naval, Air Force

Mr. Erich Eden: Harrah, Harrah High School – Naval

Mr. Tate Troxell: Edmond, Edmond Memorial – Air Force

Ms. Sofia Figueroa: Choctaw, Bishop McGuinness – Naval, Military

Mr. Jonah Weltzheimer: Edmond, Edmond Memorial – Air Force

Ms. Grace Hatch: Edmond, Bishop McGuinness – Naval, Military, Air Force

Students wishing to be considered for a Congressional nomination for the fall of 2017 may go to Russell’s official House of Representatives Website ( to learn the requirements and may apply until July 1 of their 23rd birthday.